Humboldt County Association of Governments

The Humboldt County Association of Governments (HCAOG) is a Joint Powers Agency comprised of the seven incorporated cities (Arcata, Blue Lake, Eureka, Ferndale, Fortuna, Rio Dell, Trinidad), and the County of Humboldt. It is the designated Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA) as well as the Service Authority for Freeway Emergencies (SAFE). The agency is largely responsible for programming State highway, local street and road improvements, public transportation resources, and the roadside call box program. HCAOG also bears responsibility for preparing and implementing the Regional Transportation Plan (RTP). The transportation planning and programming processes are accomplished by a multi-layered committee structure.